Melissa Rivers will emcee the Erasing the Stigma Leadership Awards, honoring Judy Collins, Paul Dalio and Anna Akana on April 27.

George Segal will present the award to Anna Akana.

The Erasing the Stigma Leadership Awards is an annual event thrown by Didi Hirsch Mental Health Services, a leading non-profit provider of free community mental health and substance use services for children and adults for over 75 years. The agency is also home to the nation’s first Suicide Prevention Center, a national leader in training, research and services. Dedicated to erasing stigma, the event expects nearly 600 guests and to raise over $500,000 for the non-profit.

JUDY COLLINSHONOREE – Music Icon, Singer/Songwriter/Author/Activist Judy Collins, whose son, Clark, died by suicide in 1992 and who herself struggled with substance use and mental illness, will receive the 2017 Beatrice Stern Media Award for her passionate efforts to raise awareness about suicide and mental illness.

PAUL DALIOHONOREE — Writer/Director/Composer Paul Dalio, whose feature film debut, “Touched With Fire,” was inspired by his own experience, will receive a Leadership Award. Through the story of two young poets who fall in love while hospitalized with bipolar disorder, the film explores the relationship between illness and creativity. It takes its title from a book of the same name by author and former Erasing the Stigma honoree, Dr. Kay Redfield Jamison, who has a cameo in the film.

ANNA AKANAHONOREE — Actress/Producer/Filmmaker/Writer Anna Akana will be honored as Didi Hirsch’s Mental Health Ambassador for using her popular YouTube channel to promote awareness about mental illness. After the suicide of her 13-year-old sister, Kristina, who was a victim of bullying, Anna wrote and starred in “Riley Rewind.” A digital series about a high school student who travels back in time to prevent a classmate’s suicide, it garnered over 25 million views across YouTube, Facebook and Netflix.

MELISSA RIVERSEMCEE — Entertainment Journalist/Producer/Author, will serve as the evening’s emcee. Melissa, who was a college student when her father, television producer Edgar Rosenberg died by suicide, has been a suicide prevention advocate for many years. She received the Beatrice Stern Media Award at Didi Hirsch’s 2016 Erasing the Stigma Leadership Awards.

GEORGE SEGALPRESENTER — George Segal, award-winning actor/musician, will be presenting the Didi Hirsch’s Mental Health Ambassador Award to Anna Akana.

NANCY RUBINPRESENTER — Nancy Rubin, educator, public servant and global champion for mental health and social justice, will be presenting the Beatrice Stern Media Award to Judy Collins.

Thursday, April 27th, 2017

Beverly Hilton Hotel
9876 Wilshire Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90210

More information can be found here.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Andy Cohen to Receive Vito Russo Award at the 30th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York City

Andy Cohen to Receive Vito Russo Award at the 30th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York City Mar 21, 2019

GLAAD, the world’s largest lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) media advocacy organization, announced today that it will honor Emmy Award-winning host, producer, and author Andy Cohen with the Vito Russo Award at the 30th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York City on May 4, 2019. More
More news