No one was being bullied Saturday evening at the 2013 NO BULL Teen Video Awards as Grown Up’s 2 star and the evening’s host, Nadji Jeter, welcomed a star-studded audience of celebrities, NO BULL’s 15 teen award nominees, parents, and anti-bullying activists.

The Great American NO BULL Challenge announced LIVE at the awards show the winners of NO BULL’s coveted “Noble” award recipients. All of the organizations entrants wrote and directed short films and Public Service Announcements about the importance of bullying prevention and digital responsibility, which will become part of the NO BULL Academy’s educational resources, available to anyone anywhere. 17-year-old Henderson, NV native Hunter Hopewell won the overall NO BULL Best Documentary of the Year award.

Celebrities from Movies, Television, Music and Sports gathered alongside national anti-bullying and social action activists on Saturday, August 10th in Los Angeles for the 2013 NO BULL National Education Conference and NO BULL Teen Video Awards. The evening was opened with a special performance by Epic Records recording artist Marcus Canty and continued with phenomenal performances by iTune’s fastest rising star in the pop charts top 10 with his song “Hey L.A.” Ryan Beatty, musician Allan I, songwriter of the hit “Crickets” and bringing the show to a close, Warner Brothers recording artist Ben J of the New Boyz.

Nickelodeon actress Kayla Maisonet, Big Time Rush actor Tucker Albrizzi and Tyler Perry’s A Madea Christmas actor Noah Urrea presented the first award of the night. It was the start of a slew of celebrities who would make their way to the Teen Video Awards stage to honor the opportunity for social change at the youth level in an awards show of “Oscars meets the Grammy’s” in Hollywood’s backyard, epically produced by Kombine Media.

As the night rolled on, other celebrities who presented awards included: The Awakening star Brandon Tyler Russell, Man of Steel actress Jadin Gould, Hannah Montana actress Romi Dames, Michelle Danner, director of the new movie Hello Herman, television hosts Joey and Elise Luthman, Are We There Yet actor Coy Stewart, ABC’s The Secret Life of The American Teenager actress Camille Winbush, Twilight actress Judi Shekoni, That’s So Raven actor Jonathan (Lil J) McDaniel, So You Think You Can Dance’s Allison Holker, Step Up Revolution’s and So You Think You Can Dance’s Stephen “tWitch” Boss, dancer Allison Holker, Cartoon Network’s Incredible Crew actress Shauna Case, Glee’s Lauren Potter, Big Time Rush’s Kelli Goss and Savannah Jayde, General Hospital’s Hayley Pullos, Andretti Autosport Racecar Driver Zach Veach, No Bull Spokesperson Nicole Edgington, World War Z stars Abigail Hargrove and Fabrizio Guido, ABC’s Family Tools actor and USA Gold Cup soccer player Brandon P. Bell, ABC’s The Middle actors Brittany Ross and Brock Ciarelli, Disney’s Crash & Bernstein star Landry Bender and Pretty Little Liars actor Cody Christian. Other celebrities who attended included, actor and DWTS contestant Kyle Massey, MTV’s The Wanted Life crew, Hit The Floor actor Jonathan McDaniel, Are We There Yet actor Coy Stewart, The Twilight Saga’s Amadou Ly, Disney Channel A.N.T. Farm star Carlon Jeffery, Nickelodeon Zoey 101 star Chris Massey, General Hospital’s Kristen Alderson, Nickelodeon’s The Thundermans star Lou Wegner, Olivia star Laci Kay, Island Def Jam recording artist Madison Beer and X-Factor’s Mali Nicole.

In addition to Hopewell winning NO BULL’s Best Documentary of the Year award, other awards presented included Best Acting (Patrick T’kindt; 16, Fort Wayne, IN), Best Community Involvement (Ashlynn Wilson; 16, St. Genevieve, MO), Best Directing (Spencer Wilson; 17, Novato, CA), Best Message (Bryce Detweiler; 18, Hummelstown, PA), Best Visual Effects (Jennifer Miller; 18, Memphis, MO), Best PSA of the Year (Patrick Byrd; 15, Austin, TX) and The Shining Star Award (No Bull Guys – Tyler Gregory, 18; Scott Hannah, 18, Ohio).

Judges for the 2013 NO BULL Challenge included Lee Hirsch, Emmy award-winning documentary filmmaker and Director of BULLY!, IM5, musical act, Dr. Mehmet Oz and his wife Lisa and 18-year-old daughter Zoe, television personality and host of The Dr. Oz Show, Emily-Anne Rigal, Founder of and 2011 Halo Award recipient by Lady Gaga, NO BULL National spokespeople Zach Veach, Shawn Hayes, Director of Research and Education, HealthCorps, Julie Hertzog, Director, PACER’s National Bullying Prevention Center, Chelsea Krost, TV & Radio Talkshow Host, Millennial Lifestyle Expert and Author, Tina Meier, Founder of the Megan Meier Foundation, Julia Mora-Blanco, Manager of the User Safety Team, Twitter, Patrice O’Neill, CEO and Executive Producer, Not In Our Town, Dave Steer, Manager of Policy and Communications, Facebook, Robin Utz, Chief, College and Career Transitions Branch, Division of Academic and Technical Education, Office of Vocational and Adult Education, U.S. Department of Education and Michael Walton, Star Sprinter/Founder, The Michael Walton Foundation.

Through the magic of filmmaking and the power of peer-to-peer influence, The Great American NO BULL Challenge empowers teens to become leaders by taking action to address bullying prevention, campus safety and the importance of being digitally responsible. The NO BULL Challenge provides a much-needed platform and spark to encourage youth activism to inspire the world’s 200 million teenagers to make a difference.

The 2013 event was produced by Brett Ostro of Kombine Media, a former producer on the Teen Choice Awards, the Cartoon Network Hall of Game Awards, and Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards.

No cost education resources from the 2013 campaign will be available by November 2013. The 2013/2014 Great American NO BULL Challenge will accept entries between December 13, 2013 and April 30, 2014. The 2014 Teen Video Awards is slated to take place on August 9, 2014 in Los Angeles, California.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Foo Fighters to Perform at Power to the Patients Concert in Washington D.C.

Foo Fighters to Perform at Power to the Patients Concert in Washington D.C. Feb 26, 2024

On Tuesday, March 5, Foo Fighters will take a rare detour from stadium, arena and amphitheater stages to perform at a private, one-night-only concert in Washington, D.C. hosted by Power to the Patients, a non-profit fighting for a more affordable, accessible, and equitable healthcare system through true price transparency. More
More news