SAY: The Stuttering Association for the Young will host its 14th Annual Benefit Gala, on Monday, May 2, 2016, to celebrate the courage and achievements of more than 70 million people who stutter, including 5% of all children.

SAY Founder Taro Alexander said, “Our Annual Benefit Gala reminds us all that every voice matters. Not some. Not most. But every voice.”

The event will recognize individuals who inspire young people who stutter, this year’s honorees are Joe Moglia (SAY: Hero Award) and Evan R. Bell (SAY: Budd Mayer Advocacy Award).

“I am honored to be recognized by SAY and to help kids find acceptance and belief in themselves. To everyone that stutters, know that we want to hear your voice,” said Joe Moglia.

Honoree Evan R. Bell noted, “I will never forget the first time I watched these brave kids get up on stage 14 years ago. They stole my heart with their courage and joy on their faces, and made me remember my own struggle to find my voice as a child. I have been watching them literally grow up on stage, seeing their emerging confidence and strong camaraderie that has been monumental in their lives.”

The evening will be hosted by Oscar and Tony winner Helen Mirren and Tony Award winner and former SAY honoree Kelli O’Hara, and will be directed by Taro Alexander with musical direction by Everett Bradley.

Helen Mirren said “I’m thrilled to host this exciting gala with my friend Kelli O’Hara, and am honored to take the stage with the inspiring children of SAY.”

Kelli O’Hara added “I have been inspired for 13 years by the work SAY has been doing. As a parent and a person who has benefited from using my voice to express myself all my life, I want to do everything I can to support an organization for kids that honors their self-expression and helps them find their voices.”

The evening will be hosted at The Skirball Center for the Performing Arts at NYU. The 6:30PM performance, featuring the young members of SAY along with celebrity friends will be followed by a dinner and live auction. Lauren Ambrose, Prince Amukamara, Lazaro Arbos, Brandon Victor Dixon, Rachel Dratch, Victor Garber, James Naughton, Dr. Alan Rabinowitz, Daphne Rubin-Vega, and Fisher Stevens are also scheduled to attend, with more celebrities to be announced.

Gala Co-Chairs include: Evan & Barbara Bell, Bettina & Michael Klein, Fred Nelson, Fred & Maria Ragucci, and TD Ameritrade, and Gala Vice-Chairs include Nancy & Bob Downey, and Camilla & Matt Slauson. To learn more about purchasing Gala tickets & tables, visit:

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

'ER' Cast To Reunite On 'Stars In The House' In Support of Waterkeeper Alliance

'ER' Cast To Reunite On 'Stars In The House' In Support of Waterkeeper Alliance Apr 15, 2021

The doctors are in! Seth Rudetsky and James Wesley announced today that the beloved cast of “ER” will reunite on “Stars In The House” for a very special Earth Day episode benefiting Waterkeeper Alliance, the fastest growing global nonprofit focused solely on clean water. More
More news