On July 13, President George W. Bush and President Bill Clinton will participate in a conversation focused on leadership moderated by financier and philanthropist David Rubenstein at the George W. Bush Presidential Center in Dallas.

The event is part of the graduation ceremony for 60 members of the 2017 Class of the Presidential Leadership Scholars (PLS) program.

The PLS program is a unique leadership development initiative that draws upon the resources of the presidential centers of Lyndon B. Johnson, George H.W. Bush, William J. Clinton and George W. Bush. Since its inception in 2015, 181 Scholars have gained greater inspiration and a stronger sense of purpose as leaders through their participation in the program.

The third class of 60 Scholars was selected during a rigorous process that began with more than 400 applications. Scholars were selected based on their leadership growth potential and the strength of their personal leadership projects aimed at improving the civic or social good by addressing a problem or need in a community, profession or organization.

Thursday, July 13, 2017
5:00 p.m.

The Presidential Leadership Scholars (PLS) program is designed for leaders from varied backgrounds who share a commitment to facing society’s greatest challenges. The program seeks participants who have the desire and capacity to take their leadership strengths to a higher level in order to help their communities and emboldens them with the practical skills needed to drive solution-oriented action. By including a roster of presidential centers – two Republican and two Democratic –the program creates a rare opportunity to instill in Scholars a brand of principled leadership that transcends diverse backgrounds.

Through the PLS program curriculum, participants have connected with some of the best minds in the study of leadership and benefited from the assets of the participating presidential centers and insights of the former presidents and people who served with them. In addition to Presidents Bill Clinton and George W. Bush, throughout the three years of the program Scholars also have had the opportunity to hear from speakers such as former First Lady Laura W. Bush; the Right Honourable Tony Blair; former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, Senator Rob Portman; Governor Terry McAuliffe; former Secretary of Defense Robert Gates; former Secretaries of Commerce Don Evans and Carlos Gutierrez; former Secretary of Labor Alexis Herman; former Secretaries of Health and Human Services Donna Shalala and Sylvia Mathews Burwell; former Secretary of Education Margaret Spellings; former Chiefs of Staff Joshua Bolten, Erskine Bowles, Andrew Card, Mack McLarty, John Podesta, and John Sununu; former Counselor to the President Larry Temple; and more.

During the program, Scholars work on a personal leadership project, intended to provide them with the opportunity to both apply the skills and competencies learned throughout the program and help achieve the program’s ultimate desired outcome of increasing social good. The Scholars have expanded the outreach and impact of their projects, including efforts to improve our nation’s schools, support transitioning members of the military, bring poverty relief to communities around the globe, and implement practical business solutions to enhance public and private partnerships; by leveraging their existing knowledge and experience with the skills and competencies learned throughout the program.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Smile Train Announces 25th Anniversary Gala

Smile Train Announces 25th Anniversary Gala Apr 15, 2024

Smile Train, the world’s largest cleft-focused organization, announces their 25th anniversary gala, a major milestone event celebrating a quarter century of unwavering commitment to ensuring every person has access to high-quality comprehensive cleft care. More
More news