Lori Sokol, Executive Director of Women’s eNews, today announced the 21 Honorees for its 19th annual ‘21 Leaders for the 21st Century’ Awards Gala, to take place on May 6th at Club 101 in New York City.

The honorees include: Gisselle Acevedo, President + CEO, The Ackerman Institute for the Family; Danielle Belton, Editor-in-Chief, The Root; Dr. Susan M. Blaustein, Founder + Director, WomenStrong International; Ted Bunch, Chief Development Officer, A Call To Men; Carolyn A. Butts, Founder + Executive Director, African Voices; Wendy Davis, Founder + Director, Deeds not Words; Robyn Hatcher, Founder + Owner, SpeakEtc.; Meika Hollander, Co-Founder + CEO, Sustain Natural; Katja Iversen, President + CEO, Women Deliver; Cynthia López, Executive Director, New York Women in Film and Television; Rosalind McLymont, Executive Editor, The Network Journal; Brette McSweeney, President, Eleanor’s Legacy; Ana Oliveira, President + CEO, New York Women’s Foundation; Tony Porter, CEO, A Call To Men; Stephanie Sandberg, Executive Director, LPAC; Sean Strub, Executive Director, Sero Project; Alicia Syrett, Founder + CEO, Pantegrion Capital LLC.

Three organizations will be honored: Campaign for Female Education (CAMFED), March ON, and Men Advocating for Real Change (MARC) by Catalyst.

This year’s Teen Voices Honoree will be the Jewish Women’s Archive’s Rising Voices Fellowship.

“Our 2019 honorees reflect our most diverse group of honorees ever, representing women of color, LGBT, and men as allies. It is clear that in order for women to achieve gender equality, we ALL need to work together toward this common goal,” says Lori Sokol, PhD, Executive Director and Editor-in-Chief of Women’s eNews. "The diversity of our honorees represents the true diversity of the world we inhabit.

Tamsen Fadal, PIX 11 News Anchor, author and producer, will host the gala for the first time. Loreen Arbus, president of The Loreen Arbus Foundation, The Goldenson-Arbus Foundation, and Loreen Arbus Productions, Inc., is Honorary Gala Chair. Honorary Gala Co-Chairs include Abigail Disney, documentary filmmaker and co-founder, Level Forward; Lauren Embrey, president, Embrey Family Foundation; and Suzanne Lerner, co-founder and president, Michael Stars. The Gala’s Keynote Speaker will be Wendy Davis, former Texas State Senator, 2014 Texas Democratic Gubernatorial nominee, and Founding Director of Deeds not Words.

Two key awards will be presented:
· The Loreen Arbus Champion for Disabilities Award – This award pays tribute to a true pioneer in the disabilities community, in honor of humanitarian and activist Loreen Arbus.
· The Rita Henley Jensen Investigative Journalism Award –This award honors an outstanding female journalist, in tribute to Women’s eNews founder, Rita Henley Jensen. A portion of the event’s proceeds will go to funding the Women’s eNews Rita Henley Jensen Internship Program to train the next generation of female journalists.

For tickets or more information about the 2019 Women’s eNews ‘21 Leaders for the 21st Century’ Gala contact: angie@womensenews.org.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Legendary Athletes, Save the Children Team Up to #SAVEWITHSPORTS

Legendary Athletes, Save the Children Team Up to #SAVEWITHSPORTS May 29, 2020

Save the Children has teamed up with some of the world’s greatest athletes and sports legends to give kids inspiring ways to stay active while they are home from school and unable to play the sports they love with the launch of #SAVEWITHSPORTS. More
More news