By on

Successful filmmaker Tyler Perry will be awarded the Chairman’s Award at the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Image Awards.

Chosen by NAACP Board Chairman Julian Bond, the Chairman Award is bestowed in recognition of special achievement and phenomenal public service. Past award recipients include: Bono, U.S. President Barack Obama, Aretha Franklin, The Dave Matthews Band, Aaron McGruder and Janet Jackson.

Tyler Perry’s public service record grows every day. Recently, the actor donated $110,000 and a brand new 15-passenger van to the Atlanta-based homeless shelter Covenant House. In 2009, Perry celebrated the centennial anniversary of the NAACP by donating $1,000,000 to the civil rights organization. Without a doubt, Perry will continue to make huge impressions on and off the screen. Watch for Tyler Perry’s acceptance of the Chairman Award on Fox on February 26.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Rachel Zoe To Host Barbara Berlanti Heroes Gala

Rachel Zoe To Host Barbara Berlanti Heroes Gala Sep 30, 2022

The Barbara Berlanti Heroes Gala benefiting the non-profit organization Fuck Cancer will take place in Santa Monica on Saturday, October 1st. More
More news