On Thursday, May 5, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences celebrated the power of television – and specifically, eight programs that have had significant impact on the viewing audience and the ability to spark positive social change.

Ryan Seacrest, Honoree, with Randy Jackson

Ryan Seacrest and Randy Jackson. Photo:Frank Micelotta, PictureGroup

The programs honored at the exclusive celebrity charity event included The 16th Man, The Big C, Friday Night Lights, Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution, The Oprah Winfrey Show, Parenthood, Private Practice and Wartorn 1861-2010. Dana Delany, star of ABC’s Body of Proof, hosted the evening for the third consecutive year.

Attendees included Christina Ricci, Lauren Graham and Peter Krause, Aimee Teegarden, Erika Christensen, Monica Potter, Ryan Seacrest, Randy Jackson, James Gandolfini, Holly Robinson-Peete and many more.

Christina Ricci (in Dolce & Gabbana)

Christina Ricci. Photo: Frank Micelotta, PictureGroup

The programs selected this year explore such critical issues as sexual abuse and assault, racism, mental health and trauma, teen pregnancy, autism, living with a life-threatening disease and good nutrition in the fight against childhood obesity.

Honorees James Gandolfini & Sheila Nevins with John Shaffner, Television Academy Chairman

Honorees James Gandolfini & Sheila Nevins with John Shaffner, Television Academy Chairman. Photo: Kristian Dowling, PictureGroup

Honorees at the event, held at the Beverly Hills Hotel, included:

  • The 16th Man – Honor presented by ESPN’s Chris Connelly and accepted by Lori McCreary, Executive Producer
  • The Big C “Taking The Plunge” – Honor presented by Holly Robinson Peete and accepted by Jenny Bicks, Executive Producer and cancer survivor, and Darlene Hunt, Creator
  • Friday Night Lights “I Can’t” – Honor presented by cast member Aimee Teegarden and accepted by Jason Katims, Executive Producer
  • Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution – Honor presented by Randy Jackson and Dominique Dawes, Co-Chair, President’s Council on Fitness, Sports and Nutrition, and accepted by Ryan Seacrest, Executive Producer
  • The Oprah Winfrey Show “A Two-Day Oprah Show Event: 200 Adult Men Who Were Molested Come Forward” – Honor presented by Christina Ricci, RAINN National Spokesperson, Scott Berkowitz, President and Founder of RAINN (Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network) and Ray Dotch, Senior Associate Producer, and accepted by Candi Carter, Senior Producer
  • Parenthood “Pilot” – Honor presented by cast members Monica Potter and Peter Krause and accepted by Jason Katims, Creator and Executive Producer
  • Private Practice “Did You Hear What Happened To Charlotte King?” – Honor presented by cast member KaDee Strickland, who plays the character Charlotte on which the episode’s story is based, and accepted by Betsy Beers, Executive Producer, and cast members Amy Brenneman, Paul Adelstein and Caterina Scorsone
  • Wartorn 1861-2010 – Honor presented by John Shaffner, Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Chairman and CEO, and accepted by Executive Producers Sheila Nevins and James Gandolfini
Lauren Graham (in Michael Kors) and Peter Krause

Lauren Graham (in Michael Kors) and Peter Krause. Photo:Kristian Dowling, PictureGroup

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, founded in 1946 at the birth of the medium, is a non-profit organization devoted to the advancement of telecommunication arts, sciences and creative leadership. Known for recognizing outstanding programming through its Primetime Emmy Awards, the Television Academy also publishes emmy magazine. Its charitable Foundation operates the Archive of American Television, College Television Awards, acclaimed student internships and other educational outreach programs.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Steve Lacy And Teresa Priolo to Host The 23rd Annual ADAPT Golf Tournament

Steve Lacy And Teresa Priolo to Host The 23rd Annual ADAPT Golf Tournament Feb 28, 2024

Edward R. Matthews, CEO of ADAPT Community Network, announced today that the 23rd Annual ADAPT Community Network Golf Tournament will be held at Brae Burn Country Club in Purchase, New York, on Monday, May 13th, 2024. More
More news