(Ahk-toong Bay-Bi) Covered – a unique covers album of U2's Achtung Baby featuring Nine Inch Nails, Patti Smith, Depeche Mode, Jack White, The Killers and others – is available for download worldwide starting today exclusively on the iTunes Store, with all proceeds to benefit Concern Worldwide's work in famine-stricken areas of East Africa.

The album will be available on iTunes in the UK on November 28th.

With the support of iTunes, the Independent Online Distribution Alliance (IODA) and all of the participating artists, managers & labels, all proceeds from the sale of (Ahk-toong Bay-Bi) Covered, will support Concern’s response to the East Africa crisis, where thousands of children have already died of hunger or related diseases and over 10 million people remain at risk.

“This crisis in East Africa is still very much an emergency and Concern is delighted that all of the parties involved are making this hugely significant contribution to our work in the region,” said Concern CEO, Tom Arnold. “We are honored they have chosen Concern as the exclusive beneficiaries.”

Mr. Arnold added: “It is disappointing that such a major ongoing humanitarian situation has largely disappeared from the media headlines. Offering the proceeds from (Ahk-toong Bay-Bi) Covered to Concern’s East Africa appeal also provides a timely reminder that alleviation of the hunger and wider health crisis in the region must not be forgotten and should remain a global priority.”

With over 25 years’ experience in East Africa, Concern has strong links with local communities and local partners, thereby increasing the agency’s effectiveness and impact in getting help and assistance to those that need it most. The agency began responding to the needs of the current emergency since its onset in late 2010 and is currently reaching 680,000 people with clean water, food and nutritional care.

(Ahk-toong Bay-Bi) Covered, conceived for Q Magazine to mark their 25th Anniversary issue, and coinciding with the 20th Anniversary re-release of Achtung Baby, is available with Q Magazine’s December 2011 issue featuring U2 on the cover.

The full track listing of (Ahk-toong Bay-Bi) Covered is:

  • Nine Inch Nails – Zoo Station
  • U2 (Jacques Lu Cont Mix) – Even Better Than The Real Thing
  • Damien Rice – One

  • Patti Smith – Until The End Of The World
  • Garbage – Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses
  • Depeche Mode – So Cruel

  • Snow Patrol – Mysterious Ways
* The Fray – Trying To Throw Your Arms Around The World

  • Gavin Friday – The Fly

  • The Killers – Ultraviolet (Light My Way)
* Glasvegas – Acrobat

  • Jack White – Love Is Blindness

Please share this page:

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Michael Franti Excited As Rock The Earth Teams With LCV Education Fund

Michael Franti Excited As Rock The Earth Teams With LCV Education Fund Jun 23, 2017

In the wake of President Trump’s decision to pull the US out of the Paris Climate Agreement, just one of his administration’s many assaults on environmental protection – LCV Education Fund announced a new chapter in Rock The Earth’s work to turn environmental values into national, state and local priorities. More
More news