London will be the focus of the sporting world when it stages the 2012 Laureus World Sports Awards Ceremony on Monday, February 6.

The Laureus World Sports Awards, which recognize sporting achievement, are the premier honors on the international sporting calendar. The winners, as voted by the Laureus World Sports Academy, the ultimate sports jury, made up of 47 of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of all time, will be unveiled at a globally televised Awards Ceremony staged at Central Hall, Westminster, in London.

Proceeds from the Laureus World Sports Awards directly benefit and underpin the work of the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, which supports 91 community sports projects around the world. Since its inception, Laureus has raised €40 million for projects which have improved the lives of more than one-and-a-half million young people.

Among the Laureus Academy Members and Laureus Ambassadors who will be in London are:
Boris Becker, Annabelle Bond, Sir Bobby Charlton, Nadia Comaneci, David Coulthard, Lawrence Dallaglio OBE, Marcel Desailly, Sean Fitzpatrick, Frankie Fredericks, Dame Tanni Grey-Thompson DBE, Ruud Gullit, Mika Hakkinen, Tony Hawk, Colin Jackson CBE, Henri Leconte, Michael Lynagh, Barry McGuigan, Ilie Nastase, Martina Navratilova, Oscar Pistorius, Gary Player, Sir Steven Redgrave CBE, Jamie Redknapp, Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario, Monica Seles, Mark Spitz, Daley Thompson CBE, Edwin Van Der Sar, Michael Vaughan OBE, Steve Waugh and Katarina Witt.

Double Olympic gold medallist Edwin Moses, Chairman of the Laureus World Sports Academy, said: “I am delighted that the 2012 Laureus Awards is to be staged in London. Sport is close to the hearts of everyone in London and the UK and that makes me very excited that the Awards are being held here. I am thrilled that so many members of the Laureus Family will be there to salute the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of the year.”

Boris Johnson, the Mayor of London, said: “I am excited that the Laureus World Sports Awards and the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation have decided to bring the Awards to London for 2012. Laureus and I share a commitment to making sport a positive part of everyone’s life regardless of age and ability. Celebrating the power of sport here in London with the world’s sporting superstars will provide the perfect start to our Olympic year and it marks the beginning of a real and long-lasting grassroots sports legacy for London and beyond.”

The full list of Nominees for the 2012 Laureus World Sports Awards is:

  • Laureus World Sportsman of the Year
    Usain Bolt (Jamaica, Athletics), Novak Djokovic (Serbia, Tennis), Cadel Evans (Australia, Cycling), Leo Messi (Argentina, Football), Dirk Nowitzki (Germany, Basketball), Sebastian Vettel (Germany, Motor Racing)
  • Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year
    Vivian Cheruiyot (Kenya, Athletics), Maria Höfl-Riesch (Germany, Alpine Skiing), Carmelita Jeter (US, Athletics), Petra Kvitova (Czech Republic, Tennis), Homare Sawa (Japan, Football), Yani Tseng (Taiwan, Golf)
  • Laureus World Team of the Year
    All Blacks (N.Zealand, Rugby), FC Barcelona (Spain, Football), Dallas Mavericks (US, Basketball), England Cricket Team (UK), Japan Women’s Football Team, Red Bull (Austria, Motor Racing)
  • Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year
    Yohan Blake (Jamaica, Athletics), Mo Farah (UK, Athletics), Petra Kvitova (Czech Republic, Tennis), Rory McIlroy (UK, Golf), Li Na (China, Tennis), Oscar Pistorius (S.Africa, Athletics)
  • Laureus World Comeback of the Year
    Eric Abidal (France, Football), Darren Clarke (UK, Golf), Crusaders (N.Zealand, Rugby), Sergio Garcia (Spain, Golf), Liu Xiang (China, Athletics), Queensland Reds (Australia, Rugby)
  • Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability
    Daniel Dias (Brazil, Swimming), Terezinha Guilhermina (Brazil, Athletics), Oscar Pistorius (S.Africa, Athletics), Esther Vergeer (Netherlands, Wheelchair Tennis), David Weir (UK, Wheelchair Athletics), Irek Zaripov (Russia, Nordic Skiing)
  • Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year
    Jamie Bestwick (UK, BMX), Philip Köster (Germany, Windsurfing), Carissa Moore (US, Surfing),
    Travis Rice (US, Snowboarding), Kelly Slater (US, Surfing), Shaun White (US, Skateboarding/Snowboarding)
comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Actor Theo James Appointed as Global Goodwill Ambassador for UNHCR

Actor Theo James Appointed as Global Goodwill Ambassador for UNHCR Jul 19, 2024

UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, last month announced the appointment of the British actor Theo James as its newest global Goodwill Ambassador. More
More news