The ALS Association would like to thank President George W. Bush and his wife, Laura, for showing their continued support for people living with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) by taking the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge.

Video: ALS Ice Bucket Challenge - George W. Bush

In 2008, President Bush signed the National ALS Registry into law (Public Law 110-373) which established the first ever national registry of people living with the disease.

The bill had broad bipartisan support in both the House of Representatives and the Senate. The House of Representatives passed the legislation by an overwhelming 415-2 vote, and the Senate passed it by unanimous consent.

President and CEO, Barbara Newhouse said, “In addition to President Bush, we also extend our appreciation to the many other elected officials who took the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge and continue to support policies that help people who are currently living with Lou Gehrig’s disease.”

The Association championed the National ALS Registry, which was launched in October 2010 by the federal Agency for Toxic Substance and Disease Registry (ATSDR) and it is the only ALS registry mandated by Congress.

The National ALS Registry, which serves as a research engine, is helping to advance the search for the cause and treatment of ALS through risk factory surveys, connecting people living with ALS to clinical trials and studies, and funding independent research projects.

As of Thursday, August 21, The ALS Association has received $41.8 million in donations compared to $2.1 million during the same time period last year (July 29 to August 21). These donations have come from existing donors and 739,275 new donors to The Association.

To learn more about the National ALS Registry please visit the ALS Registry website at or The ALS Association’s website at You also may contact your local Chapter here.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Diane Warren and Jimmy Jam To Be Honored at The 38th Carousel of Hope Ball

Diane Warren and Jimmy Jam To Be Honored at The 38th Carousel of Hope Ball Jul 16, 2024

Event chair Barbara Davis and co-chair Dana Davis announced today that longtime supporter of the cause and renowned award-winning songwriter Diane Warren will be honored with the “Inspirational Lifetime Achievement Award” at The 38th Carousel of Hope Ball on October 5, 2024 at The Beverly Hilton. More
More news