The WOMEN’S CHOICE AWARD SHOW announced today that EMMY award winning veteran television journalist and personality Meredith Vieira will host the 2017 Women’s Choice Award Show honoring fierce women who passionately advocate for the empowerment of girls and women.

The winners will be announced live at the star-studded Women’s Choice Awards at the legendary Avalon Hollywood ballroom on Wednesday, May 17, 2017.

The Women’s Choice Award Show is an important opportunity to let the voices of girls and women be heard in a big way with a show dedicated to honoring and celebrating trailblazing women. The show will also serve to inspire girls to step into their power and pursue their dreams.

“Women have been hidden figures in our history books for far too long. It is time we recognize the incredible achievements of women and help girls unlock their limitless potential. I am so proud to host the Women’s Choice Award Show on May 17th and to celebrate fierce and trailblazing women from all walks of life who make a profound impact on the world every day.” said Meredith Vieira.

“Meredith Vieira is a brilliant talent and a true champion of girls and women. Meredith is smart, warm, funny and kind, and she has a special ability to connect with everyone she meets. She is the perfect host to help us celebrate and honor boundary-breaking women who have made their mark on humanity. We are so honored to have Meredith host the first Women’s Choice Award Show,” said Delia Passi, CEO of Women’s Choice Award.

Girls and women from around the world can vote to determine winners in three categories, including the “Shero”, “Spotlight”, and “Voice of Women” awards. The Shero Award will be given to a passionate activist doing incredible work that benefits girls and women. The Voice of Women Award will be given to a leader who has helped shape the positive portrayal of girls and women in entertainment and media. The Spotlight Award will be given to a celebrity using her platform to shine a spotlight on issues affecting girls and women. Fans can vote by visiting Voting ends on Sunday, April 30, 2017 at 11:59 PM EST.

The Women’s Choice Award Show is proud to include the non-profit I Am That Girl as the cause partner for this very special event. I Am That Girl Founder Alexis Jones will speak at the event and girls from the global I Am That Girl community will be on hand to present awards to Women’s Choice Award Show winners. Girls from local I Am That Girl chapters will enjoy an inspiring and empowering night as VIP guests at the celebration. Guests at the Women’s Choice Award Show will have the opportunity to make a donation onsite to support I Am That Girl.

The Women’s Choice Award Show is proud to have the generous support of lifestyle and consumer brands including Exodo Tequila, Family Share, Gypsy Vodka, Homedics, Kaiser Permanente, Kendra Scott, Luster Premium White, Paul Gauguin Cruises, Ricola, Santa Margherita Wines, Speedo, TrueCar, Voortman Cookies and Wise Foods.

Nominees for the Women’s Choice Award Show were announced on International Women’s Day proving that the future is female. Fans can click here and rock their vote for their favorite extraordinary women. Bios for all of the Women’s Choice Award Show nominees are available on the Women’s Choice Award Show website.

Below includes the complete list of nominees.


Alicia Garza
Brittany Packnett
Carmen Perez
Dr. Knatokie Ford
Dr. Yvonne Cagle
Georgie Smith
Reshma Saujani


Alyssa Milano
Amy Purdy
Deondra Brown
Elizabeth Falkner
Emma Watson
Keke Palmer
Maggie Q
Meryl Davis
Nura Afia
Priyanka Chopra


Ana Navarro
Elaine Welteroth
Jennie Urman
Jennifer Pozner
Julie Taymor
Kara Holden
Maria Menounos
Tery Lopez

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Smile Train Announces 25th Anniversary Gala

Smile Train Announces 25th Anniversary Gala Apr 15, 2024

Smile Train, the world’s largest cleft-focused organization, announces their 25th anniversary gala, a major milestone event celebrating a quarter century of unwavering commitment to ensuring every person has access to high-quality comprehensive cleft care. More
More news