Anne Hathaway will host The 2012 Women’s Media Awards on November 13th at Guastavino’s in New York City. The announcement was made by Jane Fonda, Robin Morgan and Gloria Steinem, co-Founders of the Women’s Media Center.

“I am a supporter of the Women’s Media Center,” says Anne Hathaway. “I believe in their ongoing mission and advocacy for women and girls worldwide to be more visible and powerful through a variety of important programs & initiatives.”

“Anne embodies the spirit, talent, kindness and authenticity of her own unique talent, and always celebrates the unique talent of other women. I’m so proud that she will be guiding us through this night of serious fun and celebration,” says Gloria Steinem, Co-Founder of The Women’s Media Center.

“In addition to Anne Hathaway’s fine acting, her devotion to women’s rights, marriage equality, and social-justice activism is remarkable,” says Robin Morgan, Co-Founder of The Women’s Media Center.

“I have watched Anne use her talent and fame to shine a light on important issues particularly that help and promote women and she continues to make a difference in significant ways,” says Jane Fonda, Co-Founder of The Women’s Media Center.

Anne Hathaway is involved with many charities, including The Creative Coalition, The Step Up Women’s Network, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, The Human Rights Campaign, The Girl Effect and The Lollipop Theater Network. In 2008, she was honored at Elle magazine’s “Women in Hollywood” tribute, and has also been honored for her work with Step Up Women’s Network and at Variety’s “Power of Women.”

The 2012 Women’s Media Awards will honor:

  • Pat Mitchell, President & CEO of The Paley Center for Media & Founding Co-Chair of The Women’s Media Center, will be presented with the first Women’s Meda Center’s Lifetime Achievement Award, thereafter to be named after her.
  • Martha Nelson, Editorial Director of Time Inc., will be presented with the Women’s Media Center’s Going The Distance Award.
  • Lisa Ling, Journalist and Host of Our America With Lisa Ling on OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network, and her sister journalist Laura Ling, Host and Reporter for E! Investigates, a documentary series on the E! Network, will be presented with the Women’s Media Center Sisterhood is Powerful Award.
  • Sarah Hoye, All Platform Journalist for CNN, will receive the Women’s Media Center’s Carol Jenkins Emerging Journalist Award.

The honorees will be presented with their awards at The 2012 Women’s Media Awards on Tuesday, November 13, 2012 at Guastavino’s in New York City with all three Women’s Media Center Co-Founders, Jane Fonda, Robin Morgan & Gloria Steinem in attendance.

The Women’s Media Awards recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to advancing women’s and girls’ visibility and power in media.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Global Superstars Demand End to Animal Mistreatment

Global Superstars Demand End to Animal Mistreatment Aug 7, 2020

Ricky Gervais, pop star Mýa, actors Dame Judi Dench, Olivia Newton-John and Tzi Ma, and renowned conservationist Dame Jane Goodall have come together to record an impassioned video calling for a reset of humanity’s relationship with nature in the wake of the Covid-19 crisis and its zoonotic origins. However it’s two baby bears who have stolen the spotlight. More
More news