A new video competition will give ordinary Americans the chance to impress Maggie Gyllenhaal with films about their commitment to climate change.

Brighter Planet and 1Sky have introduced the Climate Matters Video Contest to give Americans everywhere the opportunity to inspire their next president to take bold climate action. Anybody can enter – all they need is inspiration to save the planet and a video camera. This October, the top 10 videos will be featured during a Washington D.C.-based event for the media, Congress and both presidential campaigns. These top videos will also be broadcast to millions via Link TV, FSTV, and online at venues including www.think.mtv.com.

“We know Americans are inspired to take climate action; they’re already taking steps everyday,” said actress and Climate Matters juror Maggie Gyllenhaal. “I’m excited to see what people create.”

Gyllenhaal joins a panel of judges that includes Rory Kennedy, Emmy award-winning documentary producer; Tia Lessin, the supervising producer of Fahrenheit 9/11 and Bowling for Columbine; and Leila and Nadia Conners, the producers/directors of Leonardo DiCaprio's 11th Hour. The winner of the Climate Matters Video Contest will receive a $3,000 Brighter Planet Visa Gift Card; the second and third place winners will receive $1,000 and $500 Brighter Planet Visa Gift Cards respectively.

To enter the Climate Matters Video Contest, contestants can upload a 30- or 60- second video encouraging bold climate change action to the Climate Matters website. Videos must relate to the topic of climate change and be uploaded between now and September 22, 2008. The winners will be announced on September 29, 2008.

Please share this page:

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

George Stephanopoulos And Ali Wentworth Honored At GLSEN Respect Awards – New York

George Stephanopoulos And Ali Wentworth Honored At GLSEN Respect Awards – New York May 25, 2016

GLSEN, the leading national education organization focused on ensuring safe and affirming schools for all students, honored George Stephanopoulos and Ali Wentworth, Ilene Chaiken, Optimedia, Amber Schweitzer and the Academy for Young Writers Gender-Sexuality Alliance (GSA) at the 13th Annual GLSEN Respect Awards – New York on Monday, May 23 at Cipriani 42nd Street. More
More news