The Actors Fund's Looking Ahead Program, which helps professional young performers and their families address the unique challenges of working in the entertainment industry, celebrated the 2017 Looking Ahead Awards with a star-studded gala on Tuesday, December 5, 2017 at the Taglyan Cultural Complex in Hollywood, CA.

The Looking Ahead Awards honors leaders in the current and former young performer community who continue to inspire the world by living the program’s core values of growth, education, leadership and community service.

The fourth annual gala was hosted by Corbin Bleu and featured special performances by Ashley Argota (singing “How Far I’ll Go” from “Moana”) and The Dream Talent Management Dancers.

Holly Robinson-Peete honored her mother, Dolores Robinson, with the Judy and Hilary Swank Award for parenting.

Activist Kenya T. Parham presented the Looking Ahead Award for Community Service to the ensemble cast of Kathryn Bigelow’s latest film "Detroit (Laz Alonso, Joseph David-Jones, Nathan Davis Jr., Kaitlyn Dever, Austin Hebert, Malcolm David Kelley, Jacob Latimore, Will Poulter, Algee Smith, Leon Thomas III, Samira Wiley and Tyler James Williams).

Kellie Martin received the Looking Ahead Award for Education from her longtime friend, actress Lindsay Price.

“This Is Us” stars Eris Baker, Parker Bates, Lonnie Chavis, Niles Fitch, Mackenzie Hancsicsak, Faithe Herman, Hannah Zeile and Logan Shroyer were honored with the Elizabeth Taylor Award for Social Awareness by Elizabeth Taylor's grandchildren, Tarquin and Naomi Wilding.

The legendary Charlotte Rae received The Shirley Temple Award from her “The Facts of Life” co-star Mindy Cohn.

The Looking Ahead Program was created in 2003 in partnership with SAG-AFTRA to work with youth between the ages of 9 and 18, helping them develop the values, skills and confidence they need to make successful transitions to fulfilling adult lives. Now serving more than 400 youths, families and alumni, the program aims to create a nurturing environment where young performers get support through individual, family and education counseling, leadership development, community service and social events. Looking Ahead is guided by an Advisory Committee of professionals in youth development and youth-related entertainment, which is co-chaired by actor, director and producer Fred Savage and freelance casting director and former head of casting at Nickelodeon Sharon Lieblein.

The 2017 Looking Ahead Awards was generously sponsored by Disney Channel, Disney XD, Nickelodeon, SAG-AFTRA, The Osbrink Agency, HINT Water, Sextant Wines, and Devotion Vodka.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

The Critics Choice Association's Inaugural Celebration of LGBTQ+ Cinema and Television

The Critics Choice Association's Inaugural Celebration of LGBTQ+ Cinema and Television Jun 12, 2024

The Critics Choice Association (CCA) presented the inaugural Celebration of LGBTQ+ Cinema & Television, hosted by Sherry Cola, during Pride Month on Friday, June 7, 2024 at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles, CA. The show will stream on June 21st on HereTV, the first and largest LGBTQ+ TV and streaming service in the USA. More
More news