NBA star Amaré Stoudemire, captain of the New York Knicks, is among the honorees for 2011 Father of the Year.

The National Father’s Day Council will honor six outstanding fathers for their success in balancing accomplished careers and the demands of fatherhood at its 70th annual Father of the Year Awards benefit luncheon. Proceeds of the event will benefit Save the Children.

The National Father’s Day Committee is part of the Father’s Day/Mother’s Day Council, Inc., a non-profit membership association that has as its mission the recognition and awarding of honors to role model contemporary Fathers and Mothers, while at the same time contributing to issues affecting the life and well-being of men, women and families. Past honorees have included Presidents Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy and Ronald Reagan, Generals Douglas MacArthur, Colin Powell and Norman Schwarzkopf, sports notables Dwyane Wade, George Forman and Steve Young, and communications leaders Tim Russert and Brian Williams.

The other five fathers being honored at this year’s event are:

  • Coach Jim Boeheim, Head Coach, Syracuse University Men’s Basketball Team
  • Geoffrey Canada, President & CEO, Harlem Children’s Zone
  • Brendan Hoffman, President & CEO, Lord & Taylor
  • Randall Stephenson, Chairman & CEO, AT&T

Robert Evans will be honored as the 2011 Ashok C Sani All-Star Dad on behalf of the Sani Family Foundation.

Master of ceremonies at the event will be Save the Children’s US Program senior vice president Mark Shriver.

Amaré Stoudemire established the Amaré Stoudemire Foundation in 2005 to provide philanthropic support to nonprofit organizations that provide community-based supported services that address the immediate need of at-risk women and children, at-risk urban, and minority youth.

The event takes place on June 16 at the New York Sheraton Hotel and Tower, 811 Seventh Avenue at 52nd Street. More information can be found here.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Diane Warren and Jimmy Jam To Be Honored at The 38th Carousel of Hope Ball

Diane Warren and Jimmy Jam To Be Honored at The 38th Carousel of Hope Ball Jul 16, 2024

Event chair Barbara Davis and co-chair Dana Davis announced today that longtime supporter of the cause and renowned award-winning songwriter Diane Warren will be honored with the “Inspirational Lifetime Achievement Award” at The 38th Carousel of Hope Ball on October 5, 2024 at The Beverly Hilton. More
More news