On Monday, April 22, 2013, the National Meningitis Association will hold its annual Give Kids a Shot Gala.

The event takes place at the New York Athletic Club, 180 Central Park South, New York 10019. Cocktails & Silent Auction begin at 7:00 PM followed by dinner & the NMA Awards. Master of Ceremonies is iconic actor Richard Thomas, a longtime supporter of NMA and winner of the organization’s Nancy Ford Springer Inspiration Award.

Entertainment will include the band Current Affair, singing troupe Incognito Artists and the wild Delirious Hair Design who will be making custom coifs on the spot for guests. As always, there will be a silent auction of one of a kind experiences and luxury items. This signature fundraising event will help NMA continue and expand its vital work in the fight against meningitis.

Honorary Chairs are Ambassador John L. Loeb, Jr. & Para-Olympic Gold Medalist Nick Springer; Gala Chairs Lenore Cooney, Cooney/Waters Group, Sara Herbert-Galloway & Gary Springer, Springer Associates PR; Vice Chairs, Joanna Goldenstein, KPMG,LLP; Barry J. Klarberg Monarch Wealth & Business Management.: Ulrika “Red” Nilsson, Redcircle International, Inc. & Heike M. Vogel, Arent Fox LLP; Auction Chairs, Matt Klarberg, Monarch Wealth & Business Management and Errol Rappaport.

2013 Honorees are William Schaffner, M.D., Health Achievement Award; Cindy Krejny, Moms on Meningitis Award; Massachusetts State Senator Jack Hart, Nancy Ford Springer Inspiration Award; Samantha and Kyle Busch, The Kyle Busch Foundation, Community Leadership Award.

During the 1990’s, there was a significant increase in the number of adolescents and young adults killed or disabled by meningococcal meningitis; young people who were seemingly healthy, vibrant and often athletic. Most of the families were unaware of a vaccine that could have saved their children’s lives or anguish. The National Meningitis Association (NMA), a non-profit organization, was formed in 2002 by parents whose children were killed or disabled by meningitis. Since then, NMA has created educational programs that reach millions of people each year with information about available immunizations and disease symptoms and thoughtful, comprehensive support programs for families devastated by the ravages of the disease.

Honorary Committee includes Michael Badalucco, Susan & Hon. James A. Baker III, Lynn Grossman & Bob Balaban, Steve Buscemi, Victor Calis, Commissioner Disabilities, Mayor’s Office, City of New York, U.S, Senator Susan Collins, Judy & Rod Gilbert, Adam Graves, Amy Madigan & Ed Harris, Lainie Kazan, Felicity Huffman, William H. Macy, Congressman Michael M. Michaud, James Naughton, Congresswoman Shelly Pingree, Heather Randall, Susan Sarandon, Joe Sirola, U.S. Senator Olympia J. Snowe, Liv Ullman and Logan West, Miss Teen USA 2012.

Find out more here.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Stars Announced as Honorees for 2022 WIF Honors

Stars Announced as Honorees for 2022 WIF Honors Oct 3, 2022

WIF (Women In Film, Los Angeles) announced today that the creative team for the new film “She Said”—producer DEDE GARDNER, actor CAREY MULLIGAN, and journalists JODI KANTOR and MEGAN TWOHEY—will be honored at the 2022 WIF Honors that will be held on Thursday, October 27 at The Beverly Hilton. More
More news