As previously reported by Look To The Stars, the 2009 Celebrity & Stuntwomen’s Awards and the Diamond in the RAW Foundation have announced two-time Golden Globe winner Jamie Lee Curtis and Super Middleweight Champion Laila Ali among top honorees. Curtis will be awarded the Action Icon Award for her achievements in film and Ali will be awarded the Dare2bDifferent Award for her achievements in sports and her involvement in charity work.

“In its second year, The Celebrity & Stuntwomen’s Awards will honor the fearless and outstanding achievements of action-oriented women within the entertainment industry and stunt community,” stated La Faye Baker, stuntwoman and co-creator of The Celebrity & Stuntwomen’s Awards. “We are excited to have Jamie Lee Curtis and Laila Ali among our top honorees, as well as several other outstanding women from the stunt community.”

The Diamond in the RAW Foundation is a Los Angeles-based non-profit organization whose mission is to educate and expose at-risk teen girls to a multitude of careers in the entertainment industry, both in front of the camera and behind the scenes.

Angela Meryl, Taurus World Stunt nominee with credits including “Obsessed”, “Kill Bill”, “Pirates of the Caribbean”, and “Grey’s Anatomy” will be awarded the Diamond in the RAW Award. May Boss will be honored with the Helen Gibson Award for her career as a veteran stunt woman and work in films including “Money Train” “The Story of Will Rogers”, “Blazing Saddles”, and “Police Academy”. The Special Achievement Award will be given to Mary Albee, whose credits include “Crossing Jordan”, “Ugly Betty”, “Seven Feet Under”, and “Murder She Wrote”. Given posthumously, Svetla Krasteva will be honored with the Gone But Not Forgotten Award for her work in films such as “Rush Hour 2”, “Peter Pan”, “The Ring”, and ’Lethal Weapon".

Additional award categories include the Gem Award, Jewel Award, Mentorship Award, “Wow” Stuntwoman Award, and Dynamic DUO Award, which are nominated by the stunt community and members of the Screen Actors Guild.

“Extra” correspondent Jeannie Mai and TV Guide Channel’s Patrick Stinson will serve as co-hosts for the 2009 Celebrity & Stuntwomen’s Awards. Special celebrity guests include 2009 Emmy Award Winner-Grey’s Garden, Tony Award Winner and 2009-2010 Screen Actors Guild President Ken Howard, Sean Patrick Flannery, star of the “Young Indiana Jones” film series; Lee Meriwether, best known for her role as Catwoman in the original “Batman” film; Louis Mandylor, co-star of the hit film “My Big Fat Greek Wedding”; actress Erica Hubbard from “Lincoln Heights”; Shirly Brener, co-star of “War, Inc.” and “The Dunwich Horror”; actress and stuntwoman Zoe Bell, who worked on the recent box office hit “Inglourious Basterds”; Dale Dye, actor and tactical advisor to Steven Spielberg; pro skateboarder Lauren Perkins; Robin Shou, star of the “Mortal Kombat” films; Diana Lee Inosanto, actress and goddaughter to legendary martial arts legend Bruce Lee..and many more!.

The Celebrity & Stuntwomen’s Awards. will take place Sunday, October 4, 2009 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles from 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. A reception and silent auction will kick off the event at 11:00 a.m., followed by the luncheon and awards ceremony at 12:30 p.m. Tickets for the Awards are available for purchase at

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

David Letterman Receives Glaucoma Foundation's Spotlight Award

David Letterman Receives Glaucoma Foundation's Spotlight Award Apr 22, 2024

Celebrating the 40th anniversary of The Glaucoma Foundation, writer, performer and producer David Letterman was front and center at TGF’s April 18th Gala in New York City, where he received the Foundation’s inaugural Chairman’s Spotlight Award. More
More news