By on

The tenth annual V-Day V To The Tenth festival arrives next weekend – and it is expected to be the biggest V-Day gala yet, with a huge outpouring of support from celebrities. Stars such as Salma Hayek, Oprah Winfrey, Faith Hill, Jane Fonda, Jessica Alba, Glenn Close, Rosario Dawson, Jennifer Hudson, Julia Stiles, Ali Larter, Marisa Tomei, Calpernia Addams, and many others will be in attendance.

Over $50 million has been raised by the charity, which supports local and global groups’ efforts to eradicate violence against women and girls. New Orleans was chosen to stage the event this year to honor “Katrina Warriors for their strength and resilience in the face of devastating loss.”

The founder of V-Day, Eve Ensler, said, “Although we cannot prevent such events as Hurricane Katrina, we can be there with and for each other when they occur. We can extend our hand; we can remember those who have lost their homes, their jobs, their minds and their way.”

The April 11-12 gala will hold musical performances, speeches from activists, and a performance of Eve Ensler’s The Vagina Monologues, which first opened in New York in 1997. Performed in cities all over the world, it is a series of monologues of female perspectives on a varied ‘female experience.’ With few props, actresses use shock and humor to break down the barriers of tradition, shame, ignorance, and political correctness.

With the spotlight on New Orleans, the funds raised at this year’s campaign will support “education and grassroots projects that economically empower the women of the Gulf South.”

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Milla Jovovich To Be Honored At 2019 amfAR Gala New York

Milla Jovovich To Be Honored At 2019 amfAR Gala New York Jan 22, 2019

On Wednesday, February 6, 2019, amfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research, will kick off New York Fashion Week with its annual amfAR Gala New York at Cipriani Wall Street and will pay tribute to actress and longtime amfAR supporter Milla Jovovich, legendary fashion photographers Mert Alas and Marcus Piggott, and tireless amfAR supporter and auctioneer Simon de Pury for their longstanding commitment to the fight against AIDS. More
More news