President Bill Clinton, Former Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton, and Chelsea Clinton have announced new participants for the 10th Clinton Global Initiative (CGI) Annual Meeting, to be held September 21-24 in New York City, including 45 current and former heads of state, and more than 1,000 of the most influential leaders from business, government, civil society and philanthropy.

Honorees, participants, and performers for the 8th annual Clinton Global Citizen Awards were also announced. CGI will open on Sunday, September 21st with the Clinton Global Citizen Awards, which have honored outstanding individuals in civil society, philanthropy, public service, and the private sector who exemplify global citizenship through their vision, leadership, and impact in addressing global challenges since the first Clinton Global Citizen Awards in 2007.

Hosted by Seth Meyers, of NBC’s “Late Night with Seth Meyers,” the 2014 ceremony will honor Greg Asbed and Lucas Benitez for their work on behalf of farm workers throughout the United States, Leonardo DiCaprio for his dedication to environmental causes and preservation efforts of the world’s oceans, Hayat Sindi for her work to encourage innovation and entrepreneurship among young people in the Middle East, and the President of the Republic of Kosovo, Atifete Jahjaga, for promoting reconciliation in the region and building Kosovo’s political and economic institutions to gain EU membership. The event will feature musical performances by Aloe Blacc, Natalie Merchant, Jason Mraz with special guests Raining Jane, and The Roots and appearances by Madeleine Albright, Eva Longoria, and Randy Jackson who serves as music director for the event.

Newly announced participants in the Annual Meeting include the most influential from business, government, civil society and philanthropy, including: Her Majesty Queen Rania Al Abdullah of The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan; Michelle Bachelet, President, Republic of Chile; Cherie Blair, Founder, Cherie Blair Foundation for Women; Carlos Alves de Brito, Chief Executive Officer, Anheuser-Busch InBev; Erin Burnett, Anchor, Erin Burnett OutFront; Lauren Bush Lauren, Founder and CEO, FEED; John Chambers, Chairman and CEO, Cisco; Joaquim Alberto Chissano, Former President, Republic of Mozambique, Chairperson, Joaquim Chissano Foundation; David Crane, President and CEO, NRG Energy, Inc.; Geena Davis, Founder, Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media; Peter H. Diamandis, Chairman and CEO, XPRIZE; Hikmet Ersek, President and CEO, The Western Union Company; Shelly Esque, President, Intel Foundation; Kelly Evans, Co-anchor, “Closing Bell”, CNBC; Fadi Ghandour, Founder and Vice Chairman, Aramex; Ralph E. Gonsalves, Prime Minister, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Hugh Grant, Chairman, President and CEO, Monsanto Company; Mark Gunton, Chief Executive Officer, Clinton Giustra Enterprise Partnership; Sanjay Gupta, Chief Medical Correspondent, CNN; Tony James, President and COO, Blackstone; Antony Jenkins, Group Chief Executive Officer, Barclays; Musimbi Kanyoro, Chief Executive Officer, Global Fund for Women; Donna Karan, Founder, Urban Zen; Laurent Lamothe, Prime Minister Republic of Haiti; Parker Liautaud, Expedition Leader, Willis Resilience Expedition; Cindy Hensley McCain, Advisor, McCain Institute for International Leadership; Molly Melching, Executive Director, Tostan; Carolyn Miles, President and CEO, Save the Children; Luis Alberto Moreno, President, Inter-American Development Bank; Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Finance Minister, Federal Republic of Nigeria; Babatunde Osotimehin, Executive Director, United Nations Population Fund; Vika Pota, Chief Executive Officer, Varkey GEMS Foundation; Group Director, Corporate Affairs, GEMS Education; Martin Riant, Group President, Global Baby, Feminine & Family Care, Proctor & Gamble; V. Shankar, Chief Executive Officer, Europe, Middle East, Africa, and Americas, Standard Charter Bank; Anne-Marie Slaughter, President and CEO, New American Foundation, and Professor Emerita of Politics and International Affairs, Princeton University; Uma Thurman, Founding Board Member, Room to Grow, Award-winning Actress; Xiaogang Wei, Executive Director, Beijing Gender Health Education Institute; Derek Yach Executive Director, The Vitality Institute; and, Fareed Zakaria, Host, Fareed Zakaria GPS, CNN.

Previously announced participants include President Barack Obama, 44th President of the United States; His Majesty King Abdullah II ibn Al Hussein of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan; Mary Barra, Chief Executive Officer, General Motors Company; Matt Damon, Co-founder,; Melinda French Gates, Co-chair and Trustee, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation; Jim Yong Kim, President, World Bank Group; Jack Ma, Executive Chairman, Alibaba Group; Henry M. Paulson, Jr., Chairman, The Paulson Institute, Former Secretary of the Treasury of the United States; Becky Quick, Co-anchor, Squawk Box, CNBC; Ginni Rometty, Chairman, President & CEO, IBM; Charlie Rose, Host, “Charlie Rose Show”; Darren Walker, President, Ford Foundation; and Muhammad Yunus, Chairman, Yunus Social Business.

Please visit regularly for the latest program details and list of participants.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Arlo Parks Appointed UNICEF UK Ambassador

Arlo Parks Appointed UNICEF UK Ambassador Jul 11, 2024

Arlo Parks has been appointed as the youngest Ambassador to the UK Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF UK), following three years of support to the charity. More
More news