More than 140 artists, Tribal Nations, landowners, and climate leaders have signed a letter to President Obama, urging him to reject Keystone XL pipeline.

The president has already committed to veto the Republicans’ bill. But that’s not enough. He’ll soon be making the much bigger decision on the State Department’s official decision process – and he needs to reject Keystone XL, officially.

President Obama says climate change is a significant threat to Americans. And his EPA says that Keystone XL will significantly increase the pollution causing climate change.

“Many of the choices that define a presidency come by accident or chance — some storm or crisis that demands a quick response,” reads the letter. “But this one is firmly in your control. Climate change will be a defining issue of this century. Rejecting the Keystone XL pipeline will powerfully demonstrate your commitment to stopping the rising of the oceans, set the stage for further climate action and build a legacy worth sharing.”

The letter has been signed by a number of stars, including Willie Nelson, Mark Ruffalo, Neil Young, Julianne Moore, Alec Baldwin, Robert Redford, Thom Yorke, Daryl Hannah, Vanessa Redgrave, Susan Sarandon, Lance Bass, Ian Somerhalder, Patti Smith, Marisa Tomei, John McEnroe, Kyra Sedgwick, Anthony Edwards, and many more.

To put your name to the letter, click here.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest news

Demi Moore Honored at An Unforgettable Evening

Demi Moore Honored at An Unforgettable Evening Apr 16, 2024

On Wednesday, April 10, 2024, The Women's Cancer Research Fund (WCRF) welcomed guests to An Unforgettable Evening on behalf of Honorary Chairs Rita Wilson & Tom Hanks, along with Gala Chairs Jamie Alexander Tisch, Kelly Chapman Meyer, Quinn Ezralow, and Anastasia Soare, and Co-Chairs NJ Falk, Tom Ford, Kris Levine, Judy & Leonard Lauder, Dr. Stacie J. Stephenson & Richard J Stephenson, Steve Tisch and Lori Kanter Tritsch & William P. Lauder. More
More news